Granola mom? I’m just getting started

There are days when the parent I want to be—the one who wakes with a smile long before her children stir, who never raises her voice and is constantly coming up with craft projects, poems to memorize, and perfectly prepared meals on the table—is so far removed from the parent I am (as in the harried, impatient, barking disaster that seems to be controlling me lately).

Maybe it is the strict schedule of school, with the practices, homework, and early bedtimes that is catching up with me. Maybe it is the inability of Up North weather to make up its mind—is it fall? Is it late summer? Oh, wait, never mind, it is snowing. Right. Or maybe it is the fact that I have made the turn from a “late 20-something” to 30.

I can honestly say that this move into decade number three (that sounds so much younger than 30, don’t you think?) is in many ways a giant sigh of relief. After all, I have three—yes three—children. It is a bit embarrassing, when most of your friends are, um, halfway to 80, and you have not even hit the milestone of moving away from the “me-centered” phase of life that is your 20s.

But still.

There is also something a bit panicky for me in this latest birthday. I mean, I’ve been mothering for almost a decade now. When I was in college with a wee one, it was okay to fly off the handle now and then, to make big mistakes (like never setting a bedtime so that I’d have someone to bounce Tibetan Buddhist Psychology term papers off of at 1 a.m.), because, hey—I was just a kid myself.